Song: John Legend ‘All Of Me’

Standard

Scripture: Ephesians 5:31 ‘For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh.’

I recently had the pleasure of attending the wedding of two friends who had met at university 7 years ago, dated for 3 years and then decided to get married. It was wonderful to have the opportunity to be a part of a romance that had taken a while to come to fruition and will hopefully spend the next 60 years maturing into the vision of unity that God envisaged when he created the institution of marriage.

In this day and age, the word love is carelessly thrown around with no thought as to its actual meaning and marriage seems to be just an excuse to get dressed up and have a day where everything revolves around us. But…after the gown and the cake, the music and the dancing those two people who have made a covenant to one another (and possibly before God depending on the individuals involved) actually need to go off and start the real work.

Being a female and in my mid 20s it will come as no surprise to anyone when I say that marriage is something that occupies my thoughts. Yet what you may find surprising is that the more I think about it, the more comfortable I become with waiting for it to happen to me. This is not to say that I do not wish to get married I am one of the girliest girls there ever was in this respect. I would love nothing more than for my prince charming to come riding into my life on a white stallion, swoop me into his arms and ride off into the happily ever after with me. Oh and since we are dreaming here let’s not forget the gigantic rock that will mean I need a crane to lift my finger!

On a more serious note however, in order for a marriage to work both parties need to be prepared to give 100% all of the time without expecting anything in return. It sounds crazy, but that is the level of commitment that is required.Only this will ensure a marriage that stands the test of time, because giving 100% will mean your spouse is getting the absolute best of you with no holes barred yet it is the not expecting anything in return that is really key as this is the part that ensures that your love is genuine and will not be taken away from your partner as soon as  they fall short of your expectations of them.

When I caught this revelation suddenly marriage was not so appealing because it wasn’t simply a lovey dovey celebration but a long hard slog that two people have promised to endure together, BEFORE the obstacle course of life has revealed what it will throw at them.

John Legend’s song ‘All Of Me’ captures this idea beautifully, you really need to give your all to your spouse and they need to do so also. I love the way he has phrased it because it really highlights the fact that emotions aside it does actually need to be a conscious decision because that’s the only way you can get through the challenge!

I would love to hear people’s thoughts on this post so please do comment and let’s discuss!

Leave a Reply

