Song: Alesha Dixon ‘Breathe Slow’

Standard

Image

Scripture: Ecclesiastes 7:9

Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools.

 

If the search was on for a picture of someone who epitomised the expression “motor mouth” I am pretty sure my mugshot would stand an extremely good chance of being chosen.

 

I cannot count how many times I have been asked the question “Do you not think before you speak?” Though I know I should engage brain power before mouth action begins, I tend to find myself speaking the thoughts that are entering my mind before they have fully had a chance to take shape. The result, as I’m sure you can imagine, is a worsening of whatever situation has stirred up frustration within me. Yet more than that, at times, I myself am surprised by the cutting remarks that are able to push their way past all rationality and out of my mouth.

 

Needless to say, writing this post felt a little too close to home as I very much struggle with being slow to speak (James 1:19). Refraining from blurting out my piece of mind is something that I struggle with daily and it is probably the reason why I loved Alesha Dixon’s pop track ‘Breathe Slow’ as soon as I heard it.

 

It has been a few years since she released this track, right after finding out that her husband had had an affair with someone she had dared to call a friend. The lyrics are not particularly profound, with the chorus being the exact sort of thing mothers say to little girls to calm them down. However that is probably also the beauty of it.

 

It doesn’t just apply to females; taking that extra breath before offering a response could make all the difference between saying and / or doing something you live to regret. Dealing with a situation as a rational person who speaks not as they find but as is fitting and beneficial to the circumstance you are faced with.

I don’t know about you but I certainly have my work cut out. Here’s to many a deep breath!!!!

Click here to listen to Breathe Slow.

Other useful scriptures on this topic are:

Proverbs 18:13

He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him.

Proverbs 29:20

Seest thou a man that is hasty in his words? there is more hope of a fool than of him.

Leave a Reply

